Board of Directors


Yvonne Coughlan (Chair), MA Theatre and Drama studies, UCC, founded her company RSVP (Red Sandstone Varied Productions) in 2006, and has co-created and directed; arts participatory projects in short film and theatre, site specific theatre projects, inter-disciplinary performances, festival installations and community arts events, since that time. Her heart lies with the artistic direction of the performer on screen or stage, and many prominent Cork heritage locations have provided memorable settings for her work, such as Blackrock Castle, Fota House and Gardens, The Old Cork Waterworks; and Cork City Gaol, where the first RSVP production of Yvonne’s writing The Haunted History Tours, began in 2007. Yvonne is an award winning filmmaker and screenwriter, and produces music video, experimental short film, promotional film and documentary film projects. She has produced live performances, radio podcasts, and art films, with international creatives, and on location in England, Scotland, Greece, Poland, Norway and Australia. She is the producer of annual Cork events the Cork Martial Arts Promotions (CMAP) awards ceremony, and McCarthy’s Community Talent Competition. Further positions held are production manager at promotional film production company VisitorFlix International, and Creative Producer with InFlightflix International, the Inflight destination video guide. She also volunteers as Cork South West co-ordinator with the National Campaign for the Arts (NCFA.) Yvonne has often produced work for The Firkin Crane stage, and is honoured to be Chairperson of the board at such a prestigious and well-loved theatre.

Dan Boyle is a former member of Dáil Éireann, Seanad Éireann, and is currently a Cork City councillor. He is active in many arts organisations in the Cork area. In addition to being on the board at Firkin Crane, he is currently chair and board member of Wandesford Artists Studios and Galleries, a board member (and former chair) of Cork Art Society/Lavit gallery and a board member of the Munster Literature Centre. He is a former chair of the board of Corcadorca Theatre Company and a former board member of the Glucksmann Gallery UCC, Triskel Arts Centre and Crawford Art Gallery.

Cllr Kieran McCarthy has actively promoted Cork’s heritage with its various communities and people for over twenty years. He has led and continues to lead successful heritage initiatives through his community talks, City and County school heritage programmes, walking tours, newspaper articles, books and his work through his heritage consultancy business. For the past 16 years, Kieran has written a local heritage column in the Cork Independent on the history, geography and its intersection of modern day life in communities in Cork City and County. He holds a PhD in Cultural Geography from University College Cork and has interests in ideas of landscape, collective memory, narrative and identity structures. Kieran is the author of seventeen books on Cork and its region. In June 2009 and May 2014, Kieran was elected as a local government councillor (Independent) to Cork City Council. He is also a member of the EU’s Committee of the Regions. More on Kieran’s work can be seen at and

Conall Ó Riain
With over a decade of experience in arts marketing and creative producing, Conall Ó Riain has worked in a variety of roles including artist development, communications, press, strategic planning, fundraising and sales, in a broad spectrum of arts organisations and venues, including BrokenCrow Theatre Company, Attic Projects / Luke Murphy, Catherine Young Dance, ANU Productions, Conflicted Theatre, Project Arts Centre, Galway International Arts Festival, TULCA Festival of Visual Arts, and most recently Cork Midsummer Festival (2015 – present). From 2016 – 2019 he was the programme producer of Tessellate, an artist development and mentorship initiative of Corcadorca Theatre Company, Cork Midsummer Festival and The Everyman. He holds a Higher Diploma in Arts Policy and Practice (2010) and a Masters in Drama and Theatre Studies (2011) from NUI Galway.
Cllr Michael Nugent, lives in Hollyhill on Cork’s Northside, he is a strong voice for communities working with them to secure and improve facilities, he is passionate about community work and dedicated to supporting initiatives promoting physical and mental health, the Irish language, equality and justice for all. Mick is a Director of Shine a Light Suicide and Mental Health Awareness Group and is P.R.O of St Vincent’s Hurling and Football Club. Mick Nugent is a member of Cork City Council for the City North-West Ward having been co-opted in February 2020 following the election of Thomas Gould to the Dáil, having previously been a member of the Council from 2011 to 2019, subsequently Mick replaced Thomas on the Firkin Crane Board of Directors.
Luke Murphy
Luke is a Cork-based performer, writer, director and choreographer working across various mediums in Europe, the UK and USA. Luke has collaborated with landmark immersive theatre company Punchdrunk since 2009 on various projects including twelve-hour live broadcast of The Third Day: Autumn (HBO/Sky Tv) and as an Original Cast Member of the multi-award winning Off-Broadway and Shanghai productions of Sleep No More. In addition, Luke has danced for several international companies and choreographers including Ultima Vez (2014-2018) Kate Weare, Martha Clarke, Pavel Zustiak, Ben Duke, Alexandra Waierstall, Luca Silvestrini, Heidi Latsky, Sean Curran, John Scott, Liz Roche and others.  Luke founded Attic Projects in 2014 as an umbrella for his various independent projects in dance, film and theatre. He has created over ten original evening length works and is grateful for generous support from Arts Council of Ireland, Cork City Council, CultureIreland, New England Foundation for the Arts National Dance Project, Kaatsbaan International Dance Centre, Pavilion Theatre, Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Irish Arts Centre, Foundation for Contemporary Arts, DanceLimerick, DanceBase Edinburgh, Tribeca Performing Arts Centre, DanceNow Silo Kirkland Farm, Tanz Tendendz Munich, b12 Berlin, Shawbrook and others. 
Ann Dempsey
Linda O’Shea Farren
Company Secretary: Irene Ring

Expert Advisory Panel

Jools Gilson
Catherine Foley
Marguerite Donlon